Former Palm Beach prosecutor defends clients accused of stealing
One moment your entire life is ahead of you. The next, you’re on trial for grand theft auto. However, with an experienced attorney by your side, you can fight back. At Sando Law, P.A., Attorney Andrew Sando is a former award-winning prosecutor. He knows the charges against you better than anyone and is ready to use his experience and insider knowledge to protect your future and freedom.
Sando Law is ready to take your case if you are arrested for stealing a firearm, motor vehicle, money, or a personal item. No matter how serious the charges against you may seem, Attorney Sando can provide you with trusted counsel at every turn.
What are theft offenses in Florida?
In Florida, theft is knowingly taking, using, or attempting to take or use someone else’s property, with the goal of permanently or temporarily:
- Depriving that person of the property, or
- Converting their property to unauthorized use (embezzlement or misappropriation)
Further, Florida classifies theft in the following ways:
- Petit theft of the second degree — Stolen goods valued at less than $100
- Petit theft of the first degree — Stolen goods valued at more than $100 or but less than $750
- Grand theft of the third degree —
- Property valued at $750 or more but less than $20,000
- Property valued between $100 and $750 and taken from in or around someone’s home
- Amotor vehicle(unless used in the commission of a crime, see first-degree grand theft)
- Any commercially farmed animal
- An installed fire extinguisher (not inventory)
- More than 2,000 individual pieces of citrus fruit
- Any property was taken from a construction site
- A stop sign
- Hydrous ammonia, or
- Any amount of a controlled substance.
- Grand theft of the second degree —
- Property valued between $5,000 and $20,000 was stolen during a declared state of emergency (looting) or a riot, and the conditions facilitated the theft
- Property valued between $20,000 and $100,000
- Cargo valued at less than $50,000 that has entered interstate or intrastate commerce, or
- Emergency medical or law enforcement equipment is valued at $300 or more.
- Grand theft of the first degree —
- Property valued at $100,000 or more
- A semitrailer deployed by a law enforcement officer
- Cargo valued at more than $50,000 that has entered interstate or intrastate commerce
- Any grand theft in which the offender uses a motor vehicle (other than the getaway car) as an instrument of the crime
- Any grand theft that causes more than $1,000 worth of damage to real or personal property, or
- Grand theft of the second degree occurs during a declared state of emergency or riot and the conditions that facilitated the theft.
Keep in mind, if you are a habitual offender, you could face enhanced penalties.
What are the penalties for theft offenses in Florida?
The basic penalties for theft are as follows:
- Petit theft of the second degree — If you are convicted of second-degree misdemeanor petit theft, you face up to 60 days ofjailtime and a $500 fine.
- Petit theft of the first degree — For a first-degree misdemeanor petit theft charge, you face up to one year’s imprisonment and a $1,000 fine.
- Grand theft of the third degree — Individuals charged with a felony of the third degree face up to five years imprisonment and a fine of up to $5,000.
- Grand theft of the second degree — If you are charged with grand theft in the second degree, you face a second-degree felony with a sentence of up to15 years imprisonment and a fine of no more than $10,000.
- Grand theft of the first degree — For a first-degree felony theft charge, you face up to 30 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000.
And if the alleged victim is 65 or older, expect even more enhanced penalties.
How can you protect yourself from a theft accusation?
First, cooperate with the police. Listen to your rights but try not to speak any more than you have to. Remember, anything you say can and will be used against you in a court of law. After you are booked, politely request that you speak to an attorney. Do not answer any police questions until your attorney arrives.
Seek out a skilled Florida theft offense attorney
You are innocent until proven guilty. An accusation of theft is just that: an accusation. An experienced attorney knows how to move swiftly to secure evidence, interview witnesses, collect police reports, and build a solid defense. As a former prosecutor, Attorney Sando knows the playbook used by both sides. After carefully analyzing your case, he can devise a sound strategy to safeguard your rights and freedom.
Contact an experienced theft defense attorney in South Florida
You need to act quickly when you or a loved one is arrested for theft. At Sando Law, P.A., we know what you’re up against. As a former award-winning Palm Beach prosecutor, Attorney Andrew Sando is ready to use his insider knowledge to protect your rights. Attorney Sando is ready to take your case if you need help defending a theft charge in Martin County, Palm Beach County, Broward County, Miami-Dade County, or Monroe County. To discuss your case with Attorney Sando today, call 561-296-1665 or contact Andrew online for a free case review. Toll-Free: 833-SANDO-4U